Shop

  Free shipping on orders of $45+

Exception is the delivery of the book.

Categories
Evening primrose (Oenothera biennis)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Evening primrose is a plant native to Quebec. It flowers from June to September and gives off a pleasant fragrance. The yellow, edible flowers open in a few minutes at the end of the day, and close the next day before noon, hence its nickname ''beautiful of the night''. Every evening new buds hatch, and this, throughout the summer. Evening primrose attracts different types of moths as well as bees. Its edible root turns pink when cooked, earning it the nickname ''gardener's ham''. It is best to harvest the young roots (before flowering) for consumption to prevent them from being bitter. The sweet taste is reminiscent of salsify and parsnip. Young leaves can also be eaten. An oil rich in fatty acids beneficial to health is extracted from its seeds.

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:
NEEDS APPROXIMATELY 30 DAYS OF COLD MOIST STRATIFICATION FOR BETTER GERMINATION.Seeds itself and can become invasive but is very easily controlled and does not sucker.
Curly parsley (Petroselinum crispum)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Curly parsley (Forest Green variety) is one of the herbs most used as an ornamental garnish. The leaves of this variety are varied, from very curly to a little more open. The plant is vigorous and resists well to our Quebec winters. You can eat it all summer long, and freeze it in small ice cubes for your winter recipes.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Petroselinum crispum
Common names: Curly parsley.
English: Parsley, persel.
Family: Apiaceae

***The vast majority of our seeds are produced on our farm. However, if the cultivation of a variety fails or if it is out of stock, we source from other seed companies to ensure an interesting selection. This is the case for this variety.
Aleppo pepper (Capsicum annuum)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Also known as Aleppo or Halaby pepper, this red pepper originates from the city of Aleppo, Syria. With a rich and powerful fragrance with the fruity taste of grapes and spicy Cumin, it enhances the dishes of traditional Middle Eastern cuisine. It is also described as "sweet, round and with a scent of the best sun-dried tomatoes but behind it gives you a good slap in the face! Radiationally dried and then powdered. Aleppo pepper has a moderate heat level of around 10,000 on the Scoville scale.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Capsicum annuum
Common names: Aleppo pepper, Aleppo pepper, Kirmizi biber, Urfa biber, pul biber, Haleb biber.
English: Aleppo pepper, halaby pepper.
Family: Solanaceae
Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Sea bergamot is a native perennial with fragrant pink flowers that attract pollinators and hummingbirds. It is found in meadows and open places. Its leaves like its flowers are edible and make delicious herbal teas. Choosing native species is choosing biodiversity.

***The vast majority of our seeds are produced on our farm. However, if the cultivation of a variety fails or if it is out of stock, we source from other seed companies to ensure an interesting selection. This is the case for this variety.
Lemon balm (Melissa officinalis)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Lemon balm is a plant native to the eastern Mediterranean basin (Turkey) and found in all temperate climates on the planet. It exhales a sweet lemony scent when its leaves are crumpled. It is used in herbal tea, fresh or dried. The leaves, stems and flowers are the parts used. Lemon balm is a plant known since ancient Greece and used for its benefits against stress, insomnia and overwork. It is known to have antispasmodic, antiviral, digestive properties and effectiveness against anxiety.;Caution Lemon balm seeds require cold and moist stratification before being sown.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Melissa officinalis
Common names: Lemon balm, lemon balm, lemon balm.
English: Lemon balm
Family: Lamiaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:
Cut the flowers before they produce seed. This will prevent seed dispersal. Lemon balm can become invasive by spontaneous sowing. Sow indoors at the end of March. This plant requires cold stratification in moist sand at least 2 weeks before sowing.
Ibis lettuce (Lactuca sativa)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Graceful dark red lettuce, it is very resistant to the garden both in terms of temperature and insects and pests. Its leaves are crisp and wavy, and it is described as semi-Roman. She often makes a loose, disheveled apple. Excellent in taste. Rare. Thanks to Mr. Paquet for sharing it with us.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Lactuca sativa 'Ibis'
Common names: Ibis lettuce, semi-romaine lettuce
English: Ibis Lettuce
Family: Asteraceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:
Resistant to heat and bolting.
Teff (Eragrostis tef)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Teff is a cereal of African origin with very small grains. Its culture is ancestral, it has been shown that it was cultivated by the Egyptians at the time of the Pharaohs. It is the basic ingredient in the preparation of injera, a kind of pancake characteristic of Ethiopian cuisine, and Tella beer, a traditional Ethiopian beer. Its grains are gluten-free, which makes it an ideal cereal for people who must follow a gluten-free diet. Teff produces an abundance of tiny grains.
Thibodeau bean from Beauce County (Phaseolus vulgaris)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Old dwarf cultivar from Beauce in Quebec, this bean is eaten fresh or dried. Its green pods are streaked with purple. According to many, it makes the best baked beans, but proponents of the Famille Boucher bean disagree. The solution? Mix the two.;The Beauce was a territory formerly occupied by the St. Lawrence Iroquois Nation. It would therefore be possible that it is a descendant of the beans that these people cultivated. When the First Settlers arrived, many exchanges took place between the two populations, and the beans were passed on to the newcomers. They, on the other hand, subsequently selected several varieties over many years, which favored the appearance of new lines in the varieties. The Thibodeau bean from Beauce County was found by Mr. Marc Warsha. It was actually Mr. Martin Roy of St-Zacharie, in Beauce, who gave him seeds. the cultivation of this bean goes back 4 generations, to Mrs. Thibodeau, from Beauceville, the great-great…grandmother of Martin Roy. The name, Thibodeau from Beauce County, appears for the first time in the catalog heritage seeds in 2003.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Phaseolus vulgaris
Common names: Thibodeau bean, marbled bean, heritage bean
English: Bush Bean
Family: Fabaceae
Jesuit House Garlic (Allium sativum var. ophioscorodon)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
**CAN'T BE SHIPPED OUTSIDE CANADA**When the Maison des Jésuites de Sillery, Quebec, began renovations, the gardener became concerned about the loss of a clump of garlic that had been growing there for years. He saved some bulblets that he took to Seeds of Diversity Canada. During the summer, we grew it. What was our surprise to see that the bulbils gave a large bulb of white garlic the first summer, and even a flower of garlic in September! And the flower of garlic appeared with multiple small green hairs of garlic growth. In addition, this garlic can multiply with several pebbles around the white bulb. In short, unknown name, nebulous origin, Jesuit garlic is an unknown variety that we are just beginning to know. Share!Envelope 100 bulbilsThanks to Kevin Bouchard for taking the time to share these bulbils.
Catmint (Nepeta cataria)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Perennial plant native to the Mediterranean basin (probably Egypt), naturalized throughout Europe, the Middle East and America.;If its name evokes the cat, it is because the plant provokes a remarkable reaction in several felines which is characterized by a euphoric state accompanied by great excitement your animal will roll around, sniff and do funny things.;In humans, catnip is used more to calm restlessness and pain. It should also be mentioned that before the British Empire discovered tea in its Chinese colonies, catnip infusion was a very popular drink among Her Majesty's subjects. our farm. These seeds come from Jardin Vie-La-Joie. (Germination is slow and sporadic, so sow more than you need, in order to get enough seedlings)Scarification significantly increases the germination rate Gently rub catnip seeds between 2 (fine) sand papers without pressing hard as this may damage the seeds.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Nepeta cataria. L.
Common names: Catnip, catnip, catmint, chataire
English: Catnip, catmint
Family: Lamiaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:
Germination is slow and sporadic. So be patient, and sow more than you need, in order to get enough seedlings. Removing dried flowers will encourage new flowering. Scarification significantly increases the germination rate Gently rub the catnip seeds between 2 sandpapers (fine) without pressing hard as this could damage the seeds.
Mullein (Verbascum tapus)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Mullein, with very hairy leaves that are so soft to the touch, has been known for a very long time for its beneficial effects on the respiratory system, against coughs and bronchitis. We use the flowers, prepared as an infusion, or the leaves, which we smoke. It can be grown simply for its beautiful yellow flowers.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Verbascum tapus
Common names: Grass of Saint Fiacre, candle of Notre-Dame, flower of large candlestick, man, ear of Saint Cloud, tail of wolf or herba luminaria
English names: Mullein
Family: Scrofulariaceae
Malabar spinach (Basella rubra)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
The baselle is native to the Malabar Coast in the Indian peninsula. Used as a replacement for spinach, it likes heat and light, since it comes from southern regions. A climber with delicious leaves that we eat all summer long, it is as good as it is beautiful to look at. It can be grown both in pots and in the ground.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: basella rubra
Common names: Malabar spinach, Baselle
English: Malabar spinach, ceylon spinach
Family: Basellaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Malabar spinach is a tropical climbing plant, be careful not to take them out too early in the spring as they don't like the cold.
Wormwood (Artemisia absinthium)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
This plant with beautiful silvery leaves, also called "Green Fairy", was used to make an alcohol which was, at the time, the muse of Verlaine, Baudelaire, Van Gogh and the Gauguins of this world. At the heart of controversies, fabulous stories and legends, wormwood remains a strong psychotropic to keep discreetly in your garden.*This year, we were unable to harvest wormwood at our farm. These seeds come from the company Jardin Vie-La-Joie

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Artemisia absinthium
Common names: Grande wormwood, Armoir
English: Absinthe, Wormwood
Family: Asteraceae

CULTURAL INFORMATION
Surface sow in mid-April. Do not cover as the seeds need light to germinate. Then transplant outdoors after all risk of frost.

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Short pruning in the spring allows the plant to regenerate, but wormwood tolerates pruning well at all times. Insect repellent properties.
Countess of Chambord bean (Phaseolus vulgaris)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
The Comtesse de Chambord bush bean is a very old variety (1880s) originating, as its name suggests, from the Chambord region of France. Its small pods with elongated white grains and excessively thin skin have a remarkable quality that makes it a highly esteemed variety. Branched and late plant.
Tomato Mon Plaisir (Solanum lycopersicum "Mon Plaisir")
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
In 2016, a lady approached me at a Seed Festival, telling me that her mother-in-law had a tomato called Mon Plaisir which had long since ceased to be available in the catalogues, but whose seeds she kept and cultivated years later. years. We exchange contact details, then I forget the discussion until a few months later, when I receive a letter in the mail. Inside, a beautiful card with a paper on which were pasted about fifteen seeds. Those of the Mon Plaisir lost tomato. Here is what Ms. Frappier told me when I contacted her following her letter: "We used to order our seeds through the catalogs of WHPerron, and another company. I believe it was called Norseco. We produced tomatoes in greenhouses in Abitibi, in Matamic, near Lasarre. It was the Frappier greenhouses, in 1976. We made a few plants to sell, but it was mostly market gardening. I really liked these tomatoes- there they were making long bunches of beautiful cherry tomatoes. We stopped production in the early 2000s, and I would say I had been saving my seeds for 20-25 years already, because the variety didn't appear. no longer in any catalogue. I couldn't find it anywhere. I think it was replaced by the Sweet 100 variety, or Sweet mignon. I tried it, but I much preferred the Mon Plaisir.";So we the pleasure of making it available in our turn. Thanks to the Frappier family for saving this variety. Thanks to René Paquet for providing us with a vintage photo from the 1987 Semences Laval catalogue.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Solanum lycopersicum "My Pleasure"
Common name: Tomato Mon Plaisir
English: Tomato Mon Plaisir
Family: Solanaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER COSIDERATIONS
Gradually acclimatize to outdoor conditions about 10 days before planting by taking them out during the day. When planting, lay the plants horizontally, arching them slightly to bring out the leaves upwards.
Hollyhock (Alcea rosea)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Beautiful large perennial that can reach two meters, pink to purple in color. Gives the garden a touch of sensitivity by attracting pollinators who can count on a source of pollen and nectar throughout the summer. Generous flowering. Reseeds itself.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Alcea rosea
Common names: Passe-rose, Passerose or Primerose
English: Hollyhock
Family: Malvaceae
Tomato Ice Grow (Solanum lycopersicum)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Beautiful red fruits, almost round, about 10 cm, but not very regular. Very good flavor. Its name comes from the fact that it had to endure hail. Cultivated by Mr. Guy Bourgeois, market gardener in Ste-Dorothée, Laval, in the 1950s and 60s, to be sold at Bonsecours Market, a former public market in Old Montreal. Thanks to his daughter Suzanne for transmitting seeds. They were given to us by René Paquet who got them from Antoine D'Avignon, one of the pioneers in Quebec of saving ancestral seeds.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Solanum lycopersicum 'Ice Grow'
Common name(s): Tomato 'Ice Grow'
English: Ice grow tomato
Family: Solanaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Gradually acclimate to outdoor conditions about 10 days before planting by taking them out during the day.
Chervis (Sium sisarum)
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
The roots, whose very sweet taste is reminiscent of parsnips, are eaten cooked. Popular even at the royal table until the 17th century, the chervis gradually fell into oblivion. It was probably a victim of the success of carrots or beets, the selection of which underwent spectacular improvements over time. But for the permaculture vegetable garden, it's a must! Easy to grow, the soft white flesh of its roots will make it popular again. Harvesting can be done in early spring before the plant has started growing or in the fall. Like the carrot, a first frost can make the roots sweeter. Harvest time is also the time to divide the plant for the next season. *Must have a cold period in the refrigerator, see information below.;Here is a recipe from 1460"Take skirrets, parsnips and apples, and parboil them. Make a batter of flour and eggs. Cast ale, saffron and salt into it. Wet them in the batter and fry them in oil or in grease. Pour on almond milk and serve it forth.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Sium sisarum
Common names: Chervis, berle des bergers, chirouis, girole
English: Skirret
Family: Apiaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
The chervis likes to have its feet cool and the development of its roots requires regular watering. Also, mulch the feet as soon as the temperatures warm up. And do not hesitate to water!
Canabec Pink Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum "Canabec Pink")
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
This tomato was developed in 1975 by agronomist Roger Doucet at the Saint-Hyacinthe agricultural research station. It produces pink, round, medium-sized fruits. It was created to meet the climatic conditions of our regions. It is therefore early, productive, and relatively compact despite its indeterminate growth.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Solanum lycopersicum "Canabec Rose"
Common name: Pink Canabec Tomato
English: Tomato Pink Canabec
Family: Solanaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Gradually acclimatize to outdoor conditions about 10 days before planting by taking them out during the day. When planting, lay the plants horizontally, arching them slightly to bring out the leaves upwards.
Tomato Quebec #13 (Lycopersicon esculentum "Quebec #13")
3.78 $ 3.78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
This tomato variety was developed in the early 1950s by geneticist Professor Joseph-O Vandal. He worked at Laval University for more than 30 years and he is the father of several horticultural varieties that are resistant in our climate. The vigorous plant produces very early, medium-sized dark red fruits. This exceptionally tasty tomato has far fewer seeds than the conventional tomato and has a very thin skin that peels well. It should be eaten within a few days of harvest because it does not keep as long as store-bought tomatoes.

BOTANICAL INFORMATION
Latin name: Lycopersicon esculentum "Quebec #13"
Common name: Quebec Tomato #13
English: Quebec #13 Tomato
Family: Solanaceae

MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Gradually acclimatize to outdoor conditions about 10 days before planting by taking them out during the day. When planting, lay the plants horizontally, arching them slightly to bring out the leaves upwards.

Boutique

Catégories
Mélisse (Melissa officinalis)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
La mélisse est une plante originaire de l'est du bassin méditerranéen (Turquie) et que l'on retrouve sous tous les climats tempérés de la planète. Elle exhale un doux parfum citronné lorsque l'on froisse ses feuilles. On l'utilise en tisane, fraîche ou séchée. Les feuilles, les tiges et les fleurs sont les parties utilisées.La mélisse est une plante connue depuis la Grèce antique et utilisée pour ses bienfaits contre le stress, l'insomnie et le surmenage. On lui reconnaît des propriétés antispasmodiques, antivirales, digestives et une efficacité contre l'angoisse.;Attention Les semences de mélisse nécessitent une stratification froide et humide avant d'être semés.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Melissa officinalis
Noms communs : Mélisse, baume mélisse, mélisse citronnelle.
Anglais : Lemon balm
Famille : Lamiacées

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS :
Couper les fleurs avant qu'elles ne produisent des semences. Ceci évitera la dissémination des graines. La mélisse peut devenir envahissante par ses semis spontanés. Faire le semis à l'intérieur fin mars. Cette plante nécessite une stratification à froid dans du sable humide au moins 2 semaines avant le semis.
Laitue Ibis (Lactuca sativa 'Ibis)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Laitue gracieuse de couleur rouge foncée, elle est très résistante au jardin tant au niveau de la température que des insectes et ravageurs. Ses feuille sont croquantes et ondulées, et elle est décrite comme semi-romaine.  Elle fait souvent une pomme relâchée et ébouriffée.  Excellente au goût.  Rare.  Merci à M. Paquet de nous l'avoir partagé.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Lactuca sativa 'Ibis'
Noms communs : Laitue Ibis, laitue semi-romaine
Anglais : Ibis Lettuce
Famille : Astéracées

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATION :
Résistante à la chaleur et à la montée en graine.
Teff ( Eragrostis tef)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Le teff est une céréale d'origine africaine possédant des grains de très petites tailles. Sa culture est ancestrale, il a été démontré qu'il était cultivé par les Égyptiens à l'époque des Pharaons. Il est l'ingrédient de base dans la préparation de l'injera, une sorte de crêpe caractéristique de la cuisine éthiopienne, et de la bière Tella, une bière traditionnelle d'Éthiopie. Ses grains sont dépourvus de gluten ce qui en fait une céréale idéale pour les gens qui doivent suivre un régime sans gluten. Le teff produit une abondance de minuscules grains.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Eragrostis tef
Noms communs : Teff, Millet Éthiopien
Anglais : Teff
Famille : Poaceae
Haricot Thibodeau du comté de Beauce ( Phaseolus vulgaris)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Ancien cultivar nain provenant de la Beauce au Québec, ce haricot se mange frais ou sec.  Ses cosses vertes sont striées de violet.  Selon plusieurs, il fait les meilleures fèves au lard, mais les partisans du haricot Famille Boucher ne sont pas d'accord. La solution? Mélangez les deux.;La Beauce était un territoire autrefois occupé par la Nation Iroquoise du St-Laurent. Il serait donc possible que ce soit un descendant des haricots que ce peuple cultivait. Lors de l'arrivée des Premiers Colons, beaucoup d'échanges se firent entre les deux populations, et les haricots se transmirent ainsi aux nouveaux arrivants. Ceux-ci, par contre, en sélectionnèrent par la suite plusieurs variétés sur de longues années, ce qui favorisa l'apparition de nouvelles lignées dans les variétés.Le haricot Thibodeau du comté Beauce a été retrouvé par Monsieur Marc Warsha. C'est en fait M. Martin Roy de St-Zacharie, en Beauce, qui lui a remis des semences. la culture de ce haricot remonterait à 4 générations en arrière, jusqu’à Mme Thibodeau, de Beauceville, l’arrière-arrière… grand-mère de Martin Roy.Le nom, Thibodeau du comté Beauce, apparaît pour la première fois dans le catalogue des semences du patrimoine en 2003.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Phaseolus vulgaris
Noms communs : Haricot Thibodeau, haricot marbré, haricot du patrimoine
Anglais : Bush Bean
Famille : Fabacées
Ail de la maison des Jésuites (Allium sativum var. ophioscorodon)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
** NE PEUT PAS ÊTRE ENVOYÉ HORS DU CANADA **Lorsque la Maison des Jésuites de Sillery, à Québec, entreprit des rénovations, le jardinier s'inquiéta de la perte d'un bouquet d'ail qui poussait là depuis des années. Il en sauva des bulbilles qu'il apporta aux Semences du patrimoine Canada.Au courant de l'été, nous l'avons fait pousser. Quelle ne fut pas notre surprise de voir que les bulbilles ont donné dès le premier été un gros bulbe d'ail blanc, et même une fleur d'ail en septembre! Et la fleur d'ail se présentait avec de multiples petits cheveux verts de pousse d'ail.En plus, cet ail peut se multiplier avec plusieurs cailleux autour du bulbe blanc.  Bref, nom inconnu, origine nébuleuse, l'ail des Jésuites est une variété inconnue que nous commençons à peine à connaître.  Partagez!Enveloppe 100 bulbillesMerci à Kevin Bouchard d'avoir pris le temps de partager ces bulbilles.
Cataire (Nepeta cataria)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Plante vivace originaire du bassin méditerranéen (vraisemblablement de l'Égypte), naturalisée dans toute l'Europe, au Moyen-Orient et en Amérique.;Si son nom évoque le chat, c'est que la plante provoque chez plusieurs félins une réaction remarquable qui se caractérise par un état euphorique accompagné d'une grande excitation votre animal se roulera partout, reniflera et fera de drôle de choses.;Chez l'humain,  la cataire sert plutôt à calmer l'agitation et la douleur.  Il faut aussi mentionner qu'avant que l'empire britannique ne découvre le thé dans ses colonies chinoises, l'infusion de cataire était une boisson fort prisée des sujets de Sa Majesté.*Cette année, nous n'avons pu récolter la cataire à notre ferme. Ces semences proviennent de l'entreprise Jardin Vie-La-Joie. (La germination est lente et sporadique, donc semez plus que vos besoins, afin d’obtenir assez de plantules)La scarification augmente significativement le taux de germination frotter doucement les semences de cataire entre 2 papiers sablés (fin) sans appuyer fortement car cela pourrait endommager les graines.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Nepeta cataria. L.
Noms communs : Cataire, herbe-aux-chats, menthe aux chats, chataire
Anglais : Catnip, catmint
Famille : Lamiaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS :
La germination est lente et sporadique. Soyez donc patient, et semez plus que vos besoins, afin d’obtenir assez de plantules. La suppression des fleurs séchées favorisera une nouvelle floraison. La scarification augmente significativement le taux de germination frotter doucement les semences de cataire entre 2 papiers sablés (fin) sans appuyer fortement car cela pourrait endommager les graines.
Molène (Verbascum tapus)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
La molène aux feuilles très velues et si douces au toucher, est connue depuis très longtemps pour ses effets bénéfiques sur le système respiratoire, contre la toux et les bronchites. On utilise les fleurs, préparées en infusion, ou les feuilles, que l'on fume. On peut la cultiver simplement pour ses magnifiques fleurs jaunes.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Verbascum tapus
Noms communs : Herbe de saint Fiacre, cierge de Notre-Dame, fleur de grand chandelier, bonhomme, oreille de saint Cloud, queue de loup ou encore herba luminaria
Noms Anglais : Mullein
Famille : Scrofulariacées
Épinard de Malabar ( Basella rubra)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
La baselle est originaire de la Côte de Malabar dans péninsule indienne. Utilisée en remplacement des épinards, elle aime la chaleur et la lumière, puisqu'elle vient des régions du sud. Grimpante au feuilles délicieuses que l'on mange tout aux long de l'été, elle est aussi bonne que belle à regarder.  On peut la faire pousser en pot comme en plein sol.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : basella rubra
Noms communs : Épinards de Malabar, Baselle
Anglais : Malabar spinach, ceylon spinach
Famille : Basellaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
L'épinard de malabar est une plante grimpante tropicale, attention de ne pas les sortir trop tôt au printemps car ils n'aiment pas le froid.
Absinthe (Artemisia absinthium)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Cette plante aux belles feuilles argentées, aussi appelée "Fée verte", était utilisée pour la fabrication d'un alcool qui fut, à l’époque, la muse des Verlaine, Baudelaire, Van Gogh et des Gauguin de ce monde. Au cœur de controverses, de récits fabuleux et de légendes, l'absinthe reste un fort psychotrope à garder discrètement dans votre jardin.*Cette année, nous n’avons pu récolter l'absinthe à notre ferme. Ces semences proviennent de l’entreprise Jardin Vie-La-Joie

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Artemisia absinthium
Noms communs : Grande absinthe, Armoir
Anglais : Absinthe, Wormwood
Famille : Asteraceae

INFORMATION CULTURAL
Semez en surface à la mi-avril. Ne pas recouvrir car les semences ont besoin de lumière pour germer. Transplatatez ensuite à l’extérieur après tout risque de gel.

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Une taille courte au printemps permet de regénerer le plant, mais l'absinthe supporte bien la taille en tout temps. Propriétés insectifuges.
Pavot lauren's Grape (Papever somniferum var. 'Laureen's Grape')
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Utilisé dans la fabrication de la morphine et de l'opium. Les graines de pavot se consomment couramment, entre autre dans la décoration de bagels et de pâtisseries. Très ornementale, cette magnifique annuelle est aimée des abeilles et elle se ressème naturellement au jardin. Chaque plant produit une grande quantité de semences.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Papever somniferum var. 'Laureen's Grape'
Nom commun : Pavot somnifère
Anglais : Poppy
Famille : Papaveraceae
Haricot Comtesse de Chambord ( Phaseolus vulgaris)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Le haricot nain vert Comtesse de Chambord est une très ancienne variété (années 1880) originaire, comme son nom l’indique, de la région de Chambord en France.Ses petites gousses  aux grains blancs allongés et à la peau excessivement fine ont une qualité remarquable en font une variété très estimée. Plante ramifiée et tardive.
Tomate Mon Plaisir (Solanum lycopersicum "Mon Plaisir")
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
En 2016, une dame m'aborde à une Fête des semences en me disant que sa belle-mère a une tomate nommée Mon Plaisir qui n'est plus offerte depuis belle lurette dans les catalogues, mais dont elle conserve et cultive les semences années après années.  Nous échangeons nos coordonnées, puis j'oublie la discussion jusqu'à quelques mois plus tard, où je reçois par la poste une lettre. À l'intérieur, une belle carte avec un papier sur lequel étaient collées une quinzaine de semences. Celles de la tomate perdue Mon Plaisir.  Voici ce que Mme Frappier m'a relaté lorsque je l'ai contactée suite à sa lettre;"Nous commandions autrefois nos semences par le biais des catalogues de WHPerron, et d'une autre compagnie. Je crois que ça s'appelait Norseco.  Nous produisions des tomates en serres en Abitibi, à Macamic, près de Lasarre. C'était les serres Frappier, en 1976.  Nous faisons quelques plants pour vendre, mais c'était surtout de la culture maraîchère. J'aimais beaucoup ces tomates-là, elles faisaient de longues grappes de belles tomates cerises.  Nous avons arrêté la production au début des années 2000, et je dirais que ça faisait déjà 20 à 25 ans que je conservais moi-même mes graines, parce que la variété n'apparaissait plus dans aucun catalogue. Je ne la trouvais nulle part. Je pense qu'elle a été remplacée par la variété Sweet 100, ou Sweet mignonne. J'y ai goûté, mais je préférais de loin la Mon Plaisir.";Nous avons donc le plaisir de la rendre disponible à notre tour. Merci à la famille Frappier pour avoir sauvegardé cette variété.Merci à René Paquet pour nous avoir fourni une photo d'époque provenant du catalogue 1987 de Semences Laval.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Solanum lycopersicum "Mon Plaisir"
Nom commun : Tomate Mon Plaisir
Anglais : Tomato Mon Plaisir
Famille : Solanaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES COSIDÉRATIONS
Acclimater graduellement aux conditions extérieures environ 10 jours avant la plantation en les sortant le jour. Lors de la plantation, coucher les plants horizontalement en les arquant légèrement afin de faire ressortir les feuilles vers le haut.
Rose trémière (Alcea rosea)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Belle grande vivace pouvant atteindre deux mètres, de couleur rose à pourpre. Donne au jardin une touche de sensibilité en attirant les pollinisateurs qui peuvent ainsi compter sur une source de pollen et de nectar tout au long de l'été. Floraison généreuse. Se ressème.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin: Alcea rosea
Noms communs: Passe-rose, Passerose ou encore Primerose
Anglais: Hollyhock
Famille: Malvacées
Tomate 'Ice Grow' (Solanum lycopersicum 'Ice Grow')
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Beaux fruits rouges, presque ronds, de 10 cm environ, mais peu réguliers. Très bonne saveur. Son nom proviendrait du fait qu’elle a eu à supporter la grêle. Cultivée par M. Guy Bourgeois, jardinier maraîcher à Ste-Dorothée, Laval, dans les années 1950-60, pour être vendue au marché Bonsecours, ancien marché public dans le Vieux Montréal. Merci à sa fille Suzanne d’avoir transmis des semences. Elles nous ont été données par René Paquet qui les a eu d'Antoine D’Avignon, un des pionnier au Québec de la sauvegarde des semences ancestrales.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Solanum lycopersicum 'Ice Grow'
Nom(s) commun(s) : Tomate 'Ice Grow'
Anglais : Ice Grow tomato
Famille : Solanaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Acclimatez graduellement aux conditions extérieures environ 10 jours avant la plantation en les sortant le jour.
Chervis (Sium sisarum)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Les racines, dont le goût très sucré rappelle celui du panais, se consomment cuites.  Prisé même à la table royale jusqu'au XVIIe siècle, le chervis est tombé progressivement dans l'oubli. Il fut probablement victime du succès des carottes ou des betteraves dont la sélection connut au fil du temps de spectaculaires améliorations. Mais pour le potager en permaculture, c'est un incontournable! Facile de culture, la chair blanche et douce de ses racines sauront le rendre populaire à nouveau. La récolte peut se faire tôt au printemps avant que le plant ait commencé à croître ou à l'automne. Comme la carotte, un premier gel peut rendre les racines plus sucrées. Le moment de la récolte est aussi le moment de diviser le plant pour la prochaine saison.*Doit avoir une période de froid au réfrigérateur, voir les informations ci-bas.;Voici une recette datant de 1460"Take skirrets, parsnips and apples, and parboil them. Make a batter of flour and eggs. Cast ale, saffron and salt into it. Wet them in the batter and fry them in oil or in grease. Pour on almond milk and serve it forth.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Sium sisarum
Noms communs : Chervis, berle des bergers, chirouis, girole
Anglais : Skirret
Famille : Apiaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Le chervis aime avoir les pieds au frais et le développement de ses racines nécessite des apports d'eau réguliers. Aussi, paillez les pieds dès que les températures s'échauffent. Et n'hésitez pas à arroser !
Tomate Canabec Rose ( Solanum lycopersicum "Canabec Rose")
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Cette tomate fût développée en 1975 par l'agronome Roger Doucet à la station de recherche agricole de Saint-Hyacinthe. Elle produit des fruits roses, ronds et de grosseur moyenne. Elle fût créée pour satisfaire aux conditions climatiques de nos régions. Elle est donc précoce, productive, et relativement compacte malgré qu'elle soit à croissance indéterminée.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Solanum lycopersicum "Canabec Rose"
Nom commun : Tomate Canabec Rose
Anglais : Tomato Pink Canabec
Famille : Solanaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Acclimater graduellement aux conditions extérieures environ 10 jours avant la plantation en les sortant le jour. Lors de la plantation, coucher les plants horizontalement en les arquant légèrement afin de faire ressortir les feuilles vers le haut.
Tomate Québec #13 ( Lycopersicon esculentum "Québec #13")
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Cette variété de tomate fût développée au début des années 50 par le professeur généticien Joseph-O Vandal. Il oeuvra à l'université Laval plus de 30 ans et il est le père de plusieurs variétés horticoles résistantes sous notre climat. Le plant vigoureux produit des fruits rouges foncés très précoces, de grosseur moyenne. Cette tomate au goût exceptionnel a beaucoup moins de graines que la tomate conventionnelle et possède une peau très mince qui se pèle bien. Elle doit être consommée dans les quelques jours suivant la récolte car elle ne se conserve pas aussi longtemps que les tomates du commerce.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Lycopersicon esculentum "Québec #13"
Nom commun : Tomate Québec #13
Anglais : Québec #13 Tomato
Famille : Solanaceae

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Acclimater graduellement aux conditions extérieures environ 10 jours avant la plantation en les sortant le jour. Lors de la plantation, coucher les plants horizontalement en les arquant légèrement afin de faire ressortir les feuilles vers le haut.
Mitsuba (Cryptotaenia japonica)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Le Mitsuba, aussi appelé persil japonais, est une des rares plantes potagères poussant à l'ombre. Cette fine herbe japonaise se consomme à la manière du persil. Toutes les parties de la plantes sont comestibles. Goût doux de persil, légèrement anisé. De plus, le Mitsuba est riche en carotène, en potassium et en fer.Petite plante vivace qui tolère très bien nos hivers québécois.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Cryptotaenia japonica
Nom commun : Persil japonais
Anglais : Japanese parsley
Famille : Apiaceae
Basilic Pluto (Ocimum basilicum "Pluto")
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Ce basilic nain à petites feuilles est le choix idéal pour la culture en pot ou en jardinière sur les balcons de ville. Il se plaira cependant également au jardin. Son feuillage fin et très aromatique ainsi que son joli port en boule compacte lui confère un aspect original très ornemental. Sa floraison attire les pollinisateurs.

INFORMATIONS BOTANIQUES
Nom latin : Ocimum basilicum "Pluto"
Nom commun : Basilic à petites feuilles
Anglais : Pluto basil, Shrub basil
Famille : Lamiacées

ENTRETIEN ET AUTRES CONSIDÉRATIONS
Pincer régulièrement les pousses terminales du basilic pour éviter une montée en graines précoce.

***La grande majorité de nos semences sont produites sur notre ferme. Toutefois, si la culture d’une variété échoue ou si elle est en rupture de stock, nous nous approvisionnons chez d’autres semenciers pour vous assurer une sélection intéressante. C’est le cas pour cette variété.
Chou chinois Tokyo Bekana ( Brassica rapa var. chinensis)
3,78 $ 3,78 $ 3.7800000000000002 CAD
Ce chou a une belle allure de laitue, mais avec un goût de chou sucré. Tiges blanches étroites qui se terminent par une feuille frisée d'un vert très pâle et que l'on utilise dans les sautés ou cru en salade. Facile de culture, on peut le couper et il repousse si la saison est assez longue. Tolère le froid et le chaud.Cueillir les feuilles encore jeunes et tendres ou à pleine maturité.